Essay Devlopment

March 30, 2015 § Leave a comment

After writing my Abstract and receiving feedback I then decided that I would change tactic a little bit with my topic after doing some further research into Creative billboard advertising. I decided that I would then write my essay on ‘Exploring the history behind expanded forms of advertising’. This was interesting for me because once I started there was so much information and useful work that I could reference own and I had some help from one of my tutors spencer, which was invaluable.

I looked into Trompe L’oeil, Postmodernism and Situationism as my key areas of study and found a lot of similarities between the expanded forms of advertising and each of these areas of study.

The introduction to my essay…

In this essay I am interested in researching and exploring the history behind creative advertising, but more specifically the history behind billboard advertising that questions the frame as opposed to simply embracing it (e.g. the kill bill billboard by Saatchi and Saatchi, the McDonalds sun dial billboard by Leo Burnett and the economist light bulb billboard by Abbott Mead Vickers BBDO). I am looking to research how creative advertising developed and I want to explore how creative billboard advertising differs from the more standard forms of advertising and to look at how it is a more contemporary form of advertising. I would also like to look into how creative advertising is as much concerned with the exploration of form as it is about the content. This essay will look into how creative advertising has combined artistic influences such as Trompe l’oeil, Postmodernism and Situationism – and how art, has ultimately influenced its form. (Footnote- Analysis of art in relation to advertising typically focuses upon content and conceptual analysis – I would like to shift the discussion to focus upon the material form of the advertisement)

(Brief summaries of the areas of study)

Trompe L’oeil is all about tricking the eye and creating some amazing illusions and Creative billboards are very similar to this, they can also draw your attention and trick and amaze you. Image 1 is a good example of Trompe L’oeil and how it was used as an illusion and Image 2 is a good example of how creative billboards can also create illusions.

 

Image 1: Shearer, J. (2015). Janet Shearer | Mural Art and Trompe L’Oeil Artist in Cornwall. Trompeloeil.co.uk. Retrieved 24 March 2015, from http://www.trompeloeil.co.uk

Image 2: Adland,. (2015). Nike’s transparent billboard – Nike wants you to slam into a wall.. Retrieved 24 March 2015, from http://adland.tv/ooh/nikes-transparent-billboard-nike-wants-you-slam-wall

 

Postmodernism relates because it is almost like postmodern forms of advertising, with the way it isn’t confined to the frame and how it usually includes the surrounding environment. Image 3 is the Kill Bill billboard, which shows how the surrounding environment is incorporated and used in conjunction with billboard and how it isn’t confined to the frame. Image 4, although not technically a billboard, shows how expanded forms of advertising push against the frame and break the frame.

Image 3: Vasquez, D. (2015). For ‘Kill Bill,’ one killer of a billboard – Media Life Magazine. Medialifemagazine.com. Retrieved 22 March 2015, from http://www.medialifemagazine.com/for-kill-bill-one-killer-of-a-billboard

Image 4: Gurp, M. (2009). Neglected Children are made to feel invisible – Osocio. Osocio. Retrieved 26 March 2015, from http://osocio.org/message/neglected-children-are-made-to-feel-invisible/

 

And Situationism plays a part because it was all about stage spectacles, which were used to gain attention and make a point, and expanded forms of billboard advertising almost gives you no choice but to look with the way it has immersed itself into its surroundings.

 

I learned a lot whilst researching for this essay and actually it could be the best essay I have wrote for the course in the past two years, because I always manage to struggle writing essays. I also enjoyed some of the process of finding all the information and seeing where it leads, however I don’t think I will ever truly enjoy theory or essays, but of course i see how useful it is and why it is necessary we learn and study theory.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Essay Devlopment at Rebecca Boyes-Major Graphic Design Year 2.

meta

